Sigma Nursing Announces 2023 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Inductees

Honorees will be inducted during Sigma’s 34th International Nursing Research Congress 

INDIANAPOLIS —Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) will induct 22 world-renowned nurse researchers into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame during the organization’s 34th International Nursing Research Congress in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, in July. During the event, these individuals—representing Australia, England, Hong Kong, Italy, Singapore, Spain, Taiwan, and the United States—will be presented with the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame award and share the wisdom they have gleaned throughout their illustrious careers.

“On behalf of the International Board of Directors, staff, and membership of Sigma, it is my honor to recognize these inspiring, world-renowned nurse researchers who embody the immense collective impact of nursing and nursing research on global healthcare,” said Sigma President Kenneth Dion, PhD, MSN, MBA, RN, RCSI, FAAN. “I congratulate all our honorees on their International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame induction, and I look forward to learning and sharing more about their individual research journeys.”

This year marks the 14th presentation of the prestigious Hall of Fame honor. The 2023 inductees will join 270 previously inducted nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession of nursing and the people it serves. The 2023 induction, conversations with the honorees, and special sessions showcasing their research will take place on Saturday, 22 July 2023. Wiley, a longtime Sigma partner, has sponsored the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame presentation since its inception. 

Wiley representative Danielle Chilvers said, “Wiley is proud to sponsor the Hall of Fame award presentation and to continue our support for Sigma Theta Tau International and the global nursing profession. This award is vital in recognizing the world’s outstanding nurse researchers, and on behalf of everyone at Wiley, I congratulate the 2023 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame honorees.” 

Sigma’s annual nursing research congress attracts approximately 800 nurse researchers, students, clinicians, and leaders focused on evidence-based research. The theme for the 34th International Nursing Research Congress is Connect Nursing Globally Through Research and Evidence Dissemination. To view details or register for the event, visit 

2023 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Honorees

Lora E. Burke, PhD, MPH, FAHA, FAAN
Professor Emeritus
University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing
Seattle, Washington, USA

Denise Charron-Prochownik, PhD, RN, CPNP, FAAN
Professor, Nursing and Graduate School of Public Health Chairman 
Department of Health Promotion and Development
University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Jyu-Lin Chen, PhD, RN, CNS, FAAN
Professor and Chair
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, California, USA

Wei-Ti Chen, PhD, RN, CNM, FAAN
Associate Professor
University of California, Los Angeles, School of Nursing
Los Angeles, California, USA

Carmen Giurgescu, PhD, RN, WHNP, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean for Research 
Chatlos Foundation Endowed Chair in Nursing
College of Nursing, University of Central Florida
Orlando, Florida, USA

Linda Hong-Gu He, PhD, MSc, BScMed, RN, MD, FAAN
Professor & Director of Graduate Research Programmes
National University of Singapore

Teresa Kelechi, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and PhD Studies
David and Margaret Clare Endowed Chair
Medical University of South Carolina College of Nursing
Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Bridie Kent, PhD, BSc(Hons), RN, RNT, PGCert (Teaching in HE), FRCN 
Plymouth University
Plymouth, England

Cheryl A. Krause-Parello, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship and Professor
Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Lorna Kwai Ping Suen, PhD, MPH, BN, RN, RM, FHKAN, FAAN
Dean and Professor
School of Nursing, Tung Wah College, Homantin
Hong Kong

Jianghong Liu, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marjorie O. Rendell Endowed Professor in Healthy Transitions
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Jody Rae Lori, PhD, CNM, FACNM, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean, Office of Global Affairs
University of Michigan School of Nursing
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Jane Maguire, PhD, BA, RN, BNursing Honours, Grad Cert Child and Family Health, MACN
Professor of Nursing, Deputy Head of School - Research
University of Technology Sydney
Sydney, Australia

Matthew D. McHugh, PhD, JD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Professor and Independence Endowed Chair for Nursing Education 
Director, Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Brett Mitchell, PhD, PhD, M.Adv.Pract., Dip Trop Nursing, BN, C.HealthM, C.TeachSuper, FACN, FACIPC 
Professor of Nursing
Avondale University
Lake Macquarie, Australia

Ukamaka M. Oruche, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN
Gordon Keller Professor of Nursing
Assistant Dean of the PhD program
University of South Florida College of Nursing
Tampa, Florida, USA

Alessandro Stievano, PhD, MNursSci, MSoc, MEd, BNurs, RN, FEANS, FAAN, FFNMRCSI, FTNSS
Professor, Research Coordinator 
Centre of Excellence for Nursing Scholarship OPI of Rome 
Rome, Italy

Yun-Fang Tsai, PhD, RN, FAAN
Distinguished Professor
School of Nursing, Chang Gung University
Tao-Yuan, Taiwan

Kwua Yun Wang, PhD, RN, FAAN
Taipei, Taiwan

Wenru Wang, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor
National University of Singapore

Chao Hsing Yeh, PhD, MSN, RN, FAAN
Jane and Robert Cizik Distinguished Professor
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, Cizik School of Nursing
Houston, Texas, USA

Adelaida Zabalegui, PhD, RN, FEANS
Vice-Director of Nursing
Hospital Clinic of Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain