Sigma releases new online program for nurses pursuing faculty roles

The Faculty Professional Role Development Program serves as a guide for nurse educators in their professional development.

INDIANAPOLIS — Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) has updated and enhanced its Faculty Professional Role Development Program online continuing nursing education (CNE) program. The purpose of the program is to guide nurses through the challenges of transitioning or being new to the world of academia as faculty. This three-course program describes how the scholarships of discovery, teaching, and practice relate to the essential roles and responsibilities of nursing faculty with knowledge checks and downloadable resources to keep learners engaged and focused.

The World Health Organization’s (WHO) Standards for the Initial Education of Professional Nurses and Midwives, Professional Development of Faculty recommendations serve as the curricular framework for this program. It can be completed as an entire program or as individual courses that interest the learner. Courses include:

-        Scholarship of Discovery

-        Scholarship of Teaching

-        Scholarship of Practice

Learn more about this online program at Contact with questions about adopting or purchasing this program or individual courses.


About Sigma

The Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Founded in 1922, Sigma has more than 135,000 active members in over 100 countries and territories. Members include practicing nurses, instructors, researchers, policymakers, entrepreneurs, and others. Sigma’s more than 540 chapters are located at more than 700 institutions of higher education throughout Armenia, Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, England, Eswatini, Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, the United States, and Wales.

Learn more at