Sigma Announces 2020 Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Inductees

INDIANAPOLIS —Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) will induct 19 nurse researchers into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame at Sigma’s 31st International Nursing Research Congress in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, 23-27 July 2020. On Saturday, 25 July 2020, these 19 individuals — representing Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, and the United States — will be presented with the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame award and participate in a conversation with Sigma’s president.

“These exceptional nurses embody Sigma’s vision of connected, empowered nurse leaders transforming global healthcare,” said Sigma President Richard Ricciardi, PhD, CRNP, FAANP, FAAN. “Their work impacts health and healthcare around the world, and I am honored to congratulate them on their induction into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.”

This year marks the 11th presentation of this prestigious honor. The 2020 inductees will join 199 previously inducted nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession of nursing and the people it serves.

Since its inception, the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame presentation has been sponsored by Wiley.

Vickie Thaw of Wiley Nursing said, “Wiley is particularly honored to offer our sponsorship for Sigma’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame awards during The Year of The Nurse and The Midwife, established for 2020 by the World Health Organization (WHO). The WHO created this special year because it says, ‘the world needs nine million more nurses and midwives if it is to achieve universal health coverage by 2030.’ Researchers like these Hall of Fame inductees lead the way to this goal, and all of Wiley send our congratulations.”

Sigma’s annual congress attracts 800 to 1,200 nurse researchers, students, clinicians, and leaders focused on evidence-based research. The theme for the 31st International Nursing Research Congress is Transforming Global Nursing Research and Scholarship Through Connections and Collaborations. To view details or register for the event, visit

2020 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Honorees

Peggy Compton, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor, van Ameringen Endowed Chair 
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Connie W. Delaney, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, FNAP
Dean, Professor
University of Minnesota School of Nursing
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Holli A. DeVon, PhD, MS, RN, FAAN, FAHA
Professor & Associate Dean for Research
University of California Los Angeles 
Los Angeles, California, USA

Andrea Driscoll, BN, MN, NP, PhD, FAHA, FCSANZ, FACNP
Professor of Nursing
Deakin University School of Nursing & Midwifery
Austin Health, Department of Cardiology
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Jason E. Farley, PhD, MPH, ANP-BC, FAAN
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Linda S. Franck, RN, PhD, FRCPCH, FAAN
Professor and Jack and Elaine Koehn Endowed Chair in Pediatric Nursing
University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing
San Francisco, California, USA

Brigid Gillespie, PhD, BHlth Sc, (Hons), Cert. Periop., RN
Professor of Patient Safety
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Griffith University &
Gold Coast University Hospital, Gold Coast Health
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Mary Jo Gilmer, PhD, MBA, RN-BC, FAAN
Professor and Co-Director, Pediatric Palliative Care Research Team
Vanderbilt University School of Nursing
Monroe Carell Jr Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Vanora Hundley, PhD, MSc, BN, RN, RM, RGN
Deputy Dean for Research and Professional Practice, Professor of Midwifery
Faculty of Health and Social Sciences, Bournemouth University
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Joan M. Lappe, PhD, RN, FAAN
Criss/Beirne Professor of Nursing and Associate Dean for Research, Professor of Medicine
Creighton University College of Nursing
Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Susan M. Latter, PhD, PG, Dip, BSc, (Hons), RGN
University of Southampton School of Health Sciences
Southampton, United Kingdom

Jen-Jiuan Liaw, BSN (NDMC), MSN (CWRU), PhD (UW), RN
Professor and Dean (2012-2018)
National Defense Medical Center, School of Nursing
Taipei, Taiwan, ROC

Chia-Chin Lin, BSN, (TMU), MSN, (UW), EMBA, (NTU), PhD, (UW), FAAN, RN
Head of School and Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Charity Foundation Professor in Nursing
The University of Hong Kong School of Nursing
Hong Kong

Alice J.T. Yuen Loke, RN, PhD, FAAN, FHKAN
Professor, Associate Head of Postgraduate Education
School of Nursing, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University 
Hong Kong

Karen Monsen, RN, PhD, FAMIA, FAAN
Professor of Nursing
University of Minnesota School of Nursing
Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

Carol Musil, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA
Dean and Edward J. and Louise Mellen Professor of Nursing
Case Western Reserve University Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Bukola O. Salami, RN, BScN, MN, PhD
Associate Professor
University of Alberta Faculty of Nursing
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Mona Shattell, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Jacquelyn Taylor, PhD, PNP-BC, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Professor and Director of the Center for Research on People of Color
Columbia University School of Nursing
New York, New York, USA