Sigma announces 2019 Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame inductees

Honorees will be inducted during the 30th International Nursing Research Congress in Calgary

INDIANAPOLIS —The Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) will induct 23 nurse researchers into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame during its 30th International Nursing Research Congress in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, in July. This year’s inductees — representing Australia, Canada, Sweden, and the United States — will be honored during a special session on Saturday, 27 July 2019, where they will be presented with a crystal award and participate in a moderated panel discussion.

“These Hall of Fame researchers have made highly substantive contributions to global health that will resonate for decades. I offer my sincere congratulations to these 23 outstanding nurses, and I look forward to learning more from them during my conversation with the honorees,” said Sigma President Beth Baldwin Tigges, PhD, RN, PNP, BC, who will oversee the induction and panel discussion.

This year represents Sigma’s 10th presentation of the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. The 2019 inductees will join the 176 previously inducted nurse researchers – many of whom will be present at the 10-year anniversary induction – who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves.

The International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame award presentation is sponsored by Wiley.

“Wiley is proud to partner with Sigma to celebrate these distinguished inductees. We congratulate and thank each honoree for their significant contributions to research, leadership, and advancing health around the world,” said Wiley Publishing Manager for Nursing Kassie Stovell.

Sigma’s annual Congress attracts more than 1,000 nurse researchers, students, clinicians, and leaders, who share information and learn from hundreds of peer-reviewed, evidence-based research presentations. The theme for the 30th International Nursing Research Congress is Theory-to-Practice: Catalyzing Collaborations to Connect Globally. To view details or register for the event, visit


2019 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Honorees

Terry A. Badger, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, FAPOS, FAAN
Professor and Eleanor Bauwens Endowed Chair
The University of Arizona College of Nursing
Tucson, Arizona

Cheryl Tatano Beck, DNSc, CNM, FAAN
Distinguished Professor
University of Connecticut
Storrs, Connecticut

Diane Cheryl Berry, PhD, ANP-BC, FAANP, FAAN
Assistant Dean for Research and Beerstecher-Blackwell Distinguished Professor
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Tracey Bucknall, PhD, RN, FAAN
Alfred Deakin Professor
Director of Nursing Research & Foundational Chair in Nursing
Deakin University and Alfred Hospital

Victoria Vaughan Dickson, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Associate professor & Director Pless Center for Nursing Research
NYU Rory Meyers College of Nursing
New York, New York

Claire Burke Draucker, PhD, RN, FAAN

Angela Barron McBride Endowed Professor of Mental Health Nursing
Indiana University
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mary Ersek, PhD, RN, FPCN
Professor of Palliative Care
University of Pennsylvania School Of Nursing
Senior Scientist
Department of Veterans Affairs
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Cecile A. Lengacher, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAPOS
Professor and Lyall and Beatrice Thompson Nursing Professorship in Oncology
USF College of Nursing, Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, Florida

Wendy Moyle, PhD, RN, BN, MSc
Professor and Program Director
Griffith University

Mariann R. Piano, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
Nancy & Hilliard Professor of Nursing and Senior Associate Dean for Research
Vanderbilt University, School of Nursing
Nashville, Tennessee

Ingalill Rahm Hallberg, PhD, RN, RNT, FEANS, FAAN
Lund University

Donna Lynn Rew, EdD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN
Denton & Louise Cooley and Family Centennial Professor in Nursing
The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing
Austin, Texas

Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN
Anne and George L. Bunting Professor of Clinical Ethics
Berman Institute of Bioethics/School of Nursing
Professor of Nursing and Pediatrics
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland

Elizabeth Saewyc, PhD, RN, FSAHM, FCAHS, FAAN
University of British Columbia School of Nursing
Vancouver, British Columbia

Suzanne C. Smeltzer, EdD, RN, FAAN
Professor / Director Center for Nursing Research
Villanova University College of Nursing
Princeton, New Jersey

Patricia W. Stone, PhD, RN, MPH, FAAN
Centennial Professor in Health Policy
Columbia University
New York, New York

Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, ANP, FAAN
Health Equity and Social Justice Endowed Professor and Director, Center on Innovative Care in Aging
Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
Joint Appointment with the Department of Health Policy and Management
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, Maryland

Paula Tanabe, PhD, RN, FAEN, FAAN
Associate Dean for Research Development and Data Science
Professor of Nursing and Medicine
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina

David Vlahov, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean for Research and Professor
Yale School of Nursing
New York, New York

Joachim Voss, PhD, RN, ACRN, FAAN

Professor and Director, Sarah Cole Hirsh Institute for Evidence-Based Practice
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio

JoAnne M. Youngblut, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dr. Herbert & Nicole Wertheim Professor in Prevention and Family Health
Florida International University
Miami, Florida

Jaclene A. Zauszniewski, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN
Kate Hanna Harvey Professor in Community Health Nursing and Director
Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing Program
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio

Shannon N. Zenk, PhD, RN, MPH, FAAN
Nursing Collegiate Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

About Sigma

The Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Founded in 1922, Sigma has more than 135,000 active members in over 90 countries and territories. Members include practicing nurses, instructors, researchers, policymakers, entrepreneurs, and others. Sigma’s more than 530 chapters are located at more than 700 institutions of higher education throughout Armenia, Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, England, Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, the United States, and Wales. Learn more at

About Wiley

Wiley is a global provider of content-enabled solutions that improve outcomes in research, education, and professional practice. Our core businesses produce scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals, reference works, books, database services, and advertising; professional books, subscription products, certification and training services and online applications; and education content and services including integrated online teaching and learning resources for undergraduate and graduate students and lifelong learners.

Founded in 1807, John Wiley & Sons, Inc., has been a valued source of information and understanding for more than 200 years, helping people around the world meet their needs and fulfill their aspirations. Wiley and its acquired companies have published the works of more than 450 Nobel laureates in all categories: Literature, Economics, Physiology or Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, and Peace. Wiley's global headquarters are located in Hoboken, New Jersey, with operations in the U.S., South America, Europe, Asia, Canada, Australia, and the Middle East. The Company's website can be accessed at