Sigma to present at the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women

INDIANAPOLIS — Sigma will present the program Precursors to Violence: Identifying, De-escalating, and Reducing Women’s Risks parallel to the 63rd session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (CSW63) on Monday, 11 March 2019. The event, to convene at 2:30 p.m. (1430), will be held on the second floor of the Church Center for the United Nations, located at 777 United Nations Plaza, New York, NY, USA. No registration is required.

About the Sigma presented program

Globally, direct and indirect violence against women is on the rise. The World Health Organization estimates that 35 percent of women worldwide have experienced either physical and/or sexual violence in their lifetime. Remaining unreported are instances of incivility, bullying, or threats of violence. This session illuminates the precursors to violence against women. Presenters will teach critical, practical skills for understanding and quickly identifying the underlying causes of incivility/bullying behaviors at home, work, or in social settings. Participants will learn de-escalation techniques when confronted with these behaviors and how to statistically determine a woman’s personal risk level for life-threatening physical violence.

DATE: 11 March 2019

TIME: 2:30 p.m. (1430)

LOCATION: Second floor of the Church Center for the United Nations, 777 United Nations Plaza, New York, NY, USA



About Sigma

The Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Founded in 1922, Sigma has more than 135,000 active members in over 90 countries and territories. Members include practicing nurses, instructors, researchers, policymakers, entrepreneurs, and others. Sigma’s more than 530 chapters are located at more than 700 institutions of higher education throughout Armenia, Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, England, Ghana, Hong Kong, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, the United States, and Wales. Learn more at