STTI Announces 2017 International Award Recipients

The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) announced the nurses and healthcare professionals being honored for their contributions to professional excellence with the 2017 International Awards for Nursing Excellence. These awards — recognizing achievements in the fields of technology, media, chapter excellence, research, education, practice, and leadership — will be presented during the 44th Biennial Convention, 28 October through 1 November 2017 in Indianapolis.

“Our International Award recipients are recognized by their peers for their excellence and outstanding contributions to global health. I am honored to offer my personal congratulations on these achievements,” said STTI President Cathy Catrambone, PhD, RN, FAAN.

2017 International Award for Nursing Excellence Recipients

Amy J. Berman Geriatric Nursing Leadership Award
Kuei-Min Chen, PhD, RN
Kaohsiung Medical University
Kaohsiung, Taiwan

Audrey Hepburn Award for Contributions to the Health and Welfare of Children
Elizabeth Sloand, PhD, CPNP, FAAN
Associate Professor
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
Maryland, USA

Best Practice in Technology Award
Interprofessional Care for People With Multiple Chronic Conditions
Interprofessional Education Collaborative
George Washington University
District of Columbia, USA

The Capstone International Nursing Book Award
Medical-Surgical Nursing: Making Connections to Practice
Janice Hoffman PhD, RN, ANEF
Nancy Sullivan DNP, RN
F. A. Davis Company
Pennsylvania, USA

Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award
Robert Wood Johnson Future of Nursing Scholar
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
New York, USA 

The Episteme Award
Therese S. Richmond, PhD, CRNP, FAAN
Andrea B. Laporte Endowed Term Professor of Nursing
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Pennsylvania, USA

Evidence-Based Practice Award
Providence Health Care
British Columbia, Canada

Helen Henry Excellence of Care Award
Clinical Nurse Leaders at the Carolinas Medical Center
Carolinas Healthcare System
North Carolina, USA

Hester C. Klopper Global Health Award
Iota Xi Chapter
Florida Atlantic University
Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing
Florida, USA

Melanie C. Dreher Outstanding Dean Award for Excellence in Chapter Support
Jane Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAANkat comm
Pi Chapter
Dean and Professor
University of Maryland School of Nursing
Maryland, USA 

New Member Pillar Award
Tracy Schwab, MSN, APRN, AGACNP-BC
Delta Xi Chapter
Nurse Practitioner
Kent State University College of Nursing
Ohio, USA

Practice Academe Innovative Collaboration Award
Duke Advancement of Nursing, Center of Excellence
Duke University Health
North Carolina, USA

Virginia K. Saba Nursing Informatics Leadership Award
Joyce E. Sensmeier, MS, RN-BC, CPHIMS, FHIMSS, FAAN
Vice President, Informatics
Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society
Illinois, USA

Board Awards
Nell J. Watts Lifetime Achievement in Nursing
Linda H Aiken, PhD, FRCN, FAAN
Claire M. Fagin Professor
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Pennsylvania, USA

Judith Shamian, PhD, RN, DSc (Hon), LLD (Hon), FAAN
Past President
International Council of Nurses
Ontario, Canada

Archon Award
David Suzuki, PhD
David Suzuki Foundation
British Columbia, Canada 

C3 Collaborating for Health
Christine Hancock
Founder and Director

Lucie S. Kelly Mentor Award
Elizabeth Carlson, PhD, RN
Department of Adult Health and Gerontological Nursing
Rush University College of Nursing
Illinois, USA

Sheila Anne Burke, DNP, MBA, MSN, RN, BC-NEA
Vice President of Nursing
Education Affiliates, Inc.
Illinois, USA

Dorothy Ford Buschmann Presidential Award
Patricia Thompson, EdD, RN, FAAN
Chief Executive Officer
Sigma Theta Tau International
Indiana, USA

Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award
Yvonne Moores, DBE, RN, RM

Chapter Awards

Chapter Communications and Publicity Award
Upsilon Chapter
New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing
New York, USA

Clinical Partnership Awards

Academic Health or Medical Center
Unit 62 Inpatient Medical Telemetry
The University of Kansas Health System
Kansas, USA

Large Hospital
Implementing an Acuity Adaptable Care Model Utilizing Evidence-Based Practice
Eskenazi Health
Indiana, USA

Primary or Community Facility|
North Central Nursing Clinics
Purdue University School of Nursing
Indiana, USA

Founders Awards

Dorothy Garrigus Adams Award for Excellence in Fostering Professional Standards
Robin P. Newhouse, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Dean and Distinguished Professor
Indiana University School of Nursing
Indiana, USA

Edith Moore Copeland Award for Excellence in Creativity
Pamela R. Jeffries, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Dean of Nursing
George Washington University School of Nursing
District of Columbia, USA

Elizabeth McWilliams Miller Award for Excellence in Research
Shirley M. Moore, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Edward J. and Louise Mellen Professor of Nursing and Associate Dean for Research
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University
Ohio, USA

Elizabeth Russell Belford Award for Excellence in Education
Cynthia Clark, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Strategic Nursing Advisor
ATI Nursing Education
Idaho, USA 

Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice
Elizabeth Duxbury, MS, RN, ACNS-BC
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Medical Intensive Care Unit
Rochester Regional Health
New York, USA

Mary Tolle Wright Award for Excellence in Leadership
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean for Practice and Global Initiatives
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Nursing
North Carolina, USA

Nursing Media Awards

Other (Electronic, Art, Photography, etc.)
Essence of Healing: The Journey of American Indian Nurses
North Dakota State University, Kat Communications, Cankdeska Cikana Community College, University of North Dakota Recruitment and Retention of American Indians into Nursing
North Dakota, USA

Inside an Ebola Treatment Unit: A Nurse’s Report
Debbie Wilson
American Journal of Nursing

Research Awards

Research Dissemination Award
American Lymphedema Framework
University of Missouri Center for Lymphedema Research, Practice, and Health Policy
Missouri, USA

Research Dissertation Award
Jodi L. Sutherland, PhD, RN
Predicting Nurse Practitioners' Intentions and Behaviors to Perform Routine HIV Screening
Clinical Assistant Professor
Binghamton University
New York, USA

 For more than 90 years, STTI has honored the best and brightest women and men in nursing. STTI provides its members with exclusive programs, resources, and opportunities, including recognition opportunities such as these international awards. For information on the STTI 44th Biennial Convention, including registration information, visit