Sigma Theta Tau International and The Elsevier Foundation announce 2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy Participants

 Mentored experience promotes nurse faculty retention and leadership


Julie J. Adams
The Honor Society of Nursing,
Sigma Theta Tau International

Direct Line: +1.317.917.4944 (International)
Toll-free: 888.634.7575 (U.S./Canada)

INDIANAPOLIS — The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) and The Elsevier Foundation today announced the participants and faculty comprising the 2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy (NFLA). STTI’s International Leadership Institute administers the academy mentoring program thanks to a generous grant from The Elsevier Foundation.

The NFLA is a highly selective, 20-month mentored leadership academy designed to:

• Foster academic career success.
• Promote nurse faculty retention and satisfaction.
• Encourage personal leadership development.
• Cultivate high-performing, supportive work environments in academe.

The NFLA supports the recommendations of the 2010 Institute of Medicine report, “The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health,” that calls for “health organizations, including nursing organizations and nursing schools, to provide nurses greater opportunities to gain leadership skills and put them into practice.” The NFLA pairs aspiring full-time, non-tenured faculty leaders, called scholars, with experienced leadership mentors, supported by NFLA faculty members. The academy curriculum includes a variety of educational strategies for developing leadership knowledge, competence, and outcomes.

“This new group of Leadership Mentors and Scholars represents a great addition to the community of nurse leaders that has evolved over the years as a result of this program,” said David Ruth, executive director of The Elsevier Foundation. “We are proud to sponsor this program for a third time, especially because it continues to build a learning and sharing network that improves nursing education and healthcare.”

“I congratulate all the new Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy participants,” said STTI President Cathy Catrambone, PhD, RN, FAAN. “These individuals have an unparalleled opportunity not only to learn from thought leaders, but also to transform their colleges and universities by applying that knowledge as they train future generations of nurses worldwide.”

For more than 90 years, STTI has honored the best and brightest women and men in nursing. The honor society provides nurses with programs, resources, and opportunities such as those offered through the International Leadership Institute, including the NFLA. For more information about the NFLA, visit

2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy Participants

Tamatha Arms, DNP, PMHNP-BC, NP-C

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Lisa Barnes, DNP, RN
East Carolina University

Lanell Bellury, PhD, RN, AOCNS, OCN
Mercer University

Cynthia Bemis, DNP, RN, NE-BC
Indiana University

Temeaka Gray, PsyD, MBA, MSN, CNP, RN
University of Toledo

Stephanie Jeffers, PhD, RN
Widener University

Sara Kaylor, EdD, RN, CNE
The University of Alabama

Monica Kidder, DNP, RN-BC, CNE
Covenant Health

Charlotte Swint, DNP, FNP-BC, MPH, MSN, RN
Clayton State University

Sandra O'Brien, PhD, RN, CRNP-F, PHCNS-BC
The Catholic University of America

Angela Opsahl, DNP, RN, CPHQ
Indiana University

Judy Ponder, DNP, RN
Berea College

Amber Pyatt, DNP, RN
Southwestern College Professional Studies

Malinda Whitlow, DNP, FNP-BC, RN
George Washington University

Leadership Mentors
Diane Billings, EdD, RN, FAAN, ANEF

Indiana University

Susan Buchholz, PhD, RN
Rush University

Judy Didion, PhD, MSN, CNS
Lourdes University

Mary Ellen Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF, FAAN
Duquesne University

Denise Gormley, PhD, RN
University of Cincinnati

LaNell Harrison, PhD, RN
Lubbock Christian University

Sara Horton-Deutsch, PhD, RN, PMHCNS, FAAN, ANEF, Certified Caritas Coach and HeartMath Trainer
University of Colorado-Denver

Donna Konradi, PhD, CNE, RN
University of Indianapolis

Nanette Lavoie-Vaughan, DNP, ANP-C
East Carolina University

Bette Mariani, PhD, RN
Villanova University

Barbara Penprase, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF
Oakland University

Martha Scheckel, PhD, RN
Winona State University

Kathleen Shannon-Dorcy, PhD, RN
University of Washington Tacoma

Teresa Shellenbarger, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Faculty Advisors
Laura Dzurec , PhD, PMHCNS-BC, ANEF

Widener University School of Nursing

D. Anthony Forrester , PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Rutgers University School of Nursing

Barbara M.  Friesth , PhD, RN
Indiana University

Barbara Patterson , PhD, ANEF
Widener University School of Nursing

Elizabeth Peter , PhD, RN
University of Toronto
Lead Faculty Advisor

Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN ANEF
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Susan Sportsman , PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Elsevier Education

Carol Winters , PhD, RN, CNE
East Carolina University 

NFLA Leadership Consultant
Deborah Cleeter, EdD, MSN, RN

Sawgrass Leadership Institute



About STTI
The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Founded in 1922, STTI has more than 135,000 active members in more than 85 countries. Members include practicing nurses, instructors, researchers, policymakers, entrepreneurs and others. STTI’s roughly 500 chapters are located at approximately 695 institutions of higher education throughout Armenia, Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, England, Ghana, Hong Kong, Japan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, the United States, and Wales. More information about STTI can be found online at

STTI’s International Leadership Institute offers leadership programs, mentoring opportunities, and career development resources designed to enhance leadership skills, individual abilities, and talents. The STTI International Leadership Institute administers academies and mentoring programs in maternal-child health, board leadership, gerontological nursing leadership, leadership development, and nurse faculty leadership.

About the Elsevier Foundation
The Elsevier Foundation is a corporate not-for-profit 501(c)(3), funded by Elsevier, a global provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. The Elsevier Foundation provides grants to knowledge centered institutions around the world, with a focus on diversity in STEMM, health information delivery, research in developing countries, nurse leadership and sustainability. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded more than 100 grants worth over $5 million to non-profit organizations working in these fields. Through gift-matching, the Foundation also supports the efforts of Elsevier employees to play a positive role in their local and global communities.