Sigma's International Awards for Nursing Excellence are based on the society's dedication to fostering high professional nursing standards, recognizing superior achievement, developing leadership, and encouraging creative work.

Awards are conferred to nurses each biennium for contributions in the fields of research, leadership/professionalism, education/technology, communications, nursing practice, and chapter activity/membership.


Membership is not a qualification for all awards. Self and group nominations are accepted for some awards. 

Current Sigma International Board of Directors, Sigma staff, Sigma consultants and contracted staff, and members of the judging committee are not eligible.

Award recipients from the 2015 and 2017 award cycle are not eligible to receive the same award in 2019.


Award Cycle

Award nominations are now closed.

Awards are conferred each biennium, for presentation at the biennial convention.


Award Categories

IANE Awards
IANE Awards
IANE Awards