HERITAGE SOCIETY NEWSLETTER

MARCH 2017

Heritage Society Dinner and Silent Auction

Consider making an in-kind donation for the Heritage Society Dinner and Silent Auction. We are looking for items that are unique, good-quality, nursing nostalgia, or jewelry valued at US \$300 or less. The event will be taking place at the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites on 29 October 2017 during the 44th Biennial Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. If you have items you would like to donate, please contact Nikki Aleman at <u>nikki@stti.org</u> or by phone at 888.634.7575 (US/Canada toll-free).









Patricia E. Thompson Retirement

You likely are aware of plans to recognize Honor Society, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) CEO Patricia E. Thompson on the occasion of her retirement later this year. You may honor Pat by making a US \$220 Patricia E. Thompson Giving Circle donation by 31 July. You will receive a ticket to Pat's retirement reception on 30 October 2017 during STTI's 44th Biennial Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana, USA, and sustain the Global Nursing Research Grant.

Donate Today »

New Heritage Society Donors

We gratefully recognize the newest Heritage Society donors.

Virginia Henderson Fellows



Jose L. Alejandro MSN, PhD, RN-BC, MBA, CCM, FACHE, FAAN Director of Case Management Tampa General Hospital Delta Beta-at-Large Chapter Tampa, Florida, USA



Mary Lou Bond PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN Professor Emerita The University of Texas at Arlington Beta Alpha and Delta Theta Chapters Benbrook, Texas, USA



Barbara A. Brunt MA, RN-BC, NE-BC, FABC Education Consultant Delta Omega Chapter Akron, Ohio, USA



William Fehder PhD, RN, CRNA Clinical Associate Professor Boston College William F. Connell School of Nursing Alpha Chi Chapter Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, USA



Susan Gennaro PhD, RN, FAAN Dean and Professor Boston College Alpha Chi Chapter Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, USA



Julie Jones

RN-BC, MS EHR Clinical Application Analyst Staff University of Vermont Medical Center Nursing Informatics Lecturer University of Colorado Delta Upsilon-at-Large, Kappa Tau, and Phi Gamma Chapters Milton, Vermont, USA

Philanthropic Caring Society



Evelyn R. Hayes

PhD, MPH, FNP-BC Nursing Informatics Lecturer University of Colorado Delta Upsilon-at-Large, Kappa Tau, and Phi Gamma Chapters Milton, Vermont, USA

News About Fellows

The following individuals were inducted as inaugural <u>Fellows</u> in the Society for Simulation in Healthcare Academy on 30 January 2017: Sharon Decker Pamela Jeffries Suzie Kardong-Edgren Juli Maxworthy

Ruth Anderson received the Friends of the National Institute for Nursing Research <u>2016 Path</u> <u>Paver Award</u> on 19 October 2016.

Diane Billings received the American Journal of Nursing <u>2016 Book of the Year Award</u> in the Nursing Education category for *Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty*, which was co-edited by Judith Halstead.

Marion Broome was appointed as a board member of the Institute for Child Success in Greenville, South Carolina. She was elected to the Board of Commissioners for the National League for Nursing Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation for a 3-year term.

Ellen Buckner accepted appointment as professor and chair of undergraduate programs at Samford University Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing in Birmingham, Alabama.

Laurie Carbo-Porter was named <u>dean</u> of the School of Health Sciences at Excelsior College.

Cathy Catrambone is co-chair elect of the Global Nursing and Health Expert Panel of the American Academy of Nursing. She represented STTI at the Global Genomics Nursing Alliance retreat in Cambridge, England in January 2017.

Joanne Disch has been elected chair of the Aurora Health Care board of directors. She is the first nurse to chair the board of directors for Aurora Health Care.

Sr. Rosemary Donley, professor at Duquesne University School of Nursing has shared information about the <u>8th Annual McGinley-Rice Symposium on Social Justice for Vulnerable</u> <u>Populations</u>, *The Face of the Person with an Addiction*.

Betty Ferrell received WebMD's <u>2016 Health Hero Award</u>; she is the first nurse to receive this award.

Judith Halstead received the American Journal of Nursing 2016 Book of the Year Award in the Nursing Education category for *Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty*, which was co-edited by Diane Billings.

Abby Heydman will be receiving the Mary Jane Harris Distinguished Service Award by the Commission on Accreditation for Physical Therapy Education at the annual meeting in April 2017.

Tara Hulsey was elected president of the Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing (CCEN) for the Southern Regional Education Board.

Carol Jorgensen Huston is serving as <u>president</u> (2016–2018) of the Enloe Medical Center Board of Trustees, where she has served on the board since 2012.

Carole Kenner was awarded the March of Dimes New Jersey Nurse of the Year Award for Education on 16 November 2016.

Carole Liske is the new president of the Western Governors University Honor Society that will be chartered as an STTI chapter in July 2017.

Shannon Perry had a helicopter flight in Peoria, Illinois to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the first helicopter transport of a premature infant. She received a certificate from the Air and Surface Transport Nurses Association acknowledging her as the first helicopter transport nurse.

Nancy Ridenour presented "Closing the Gap in Nurse Advocacy" as part of the symposium *Giving Nurses Voice in Shaping Evidence-based Health Policy: Lessons Learned from the Front Lines* at STTI's 27th International Nursing Research Congress.

Patricia C. Seifert presented and served as a moderator at the 8th Joint Scandinavian Conference in Cardiothoracic Surgery in Reykjavik, Iceland, 17-19 August 2016.

Gwen Sherwood was recipient of the <u>2016 Distinguished Alumni Award</u> from the University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing. She was visiting professor at Kaohsiung Medical University in Taiwan in November 2016.

Jean Shinners was appointed associate editor for the *Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing* (JCEN) "Administrative Angles" column and had two articles published in the *Journal for Nurses in Professional Development* titled "Debriefing as a Supportive Component for Registered Nurses in Transition" and "The Nursing Professional Development Practitioner and Preceptor Role Development."

Larry Slater will be promoted to clinical associate professor at New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing beginning 1 September 2017. He was elected to serve as president for the new Northeast Multi-State Division of the American Nurses Association (ANA).

Kathleen Taylor is on the program committee and an abstract reviewer for the School Nurses International Conference being held in San Francisco, California, 24-28 July 2017.

M. Cecilia Wendler recently retired from her position as director of nursing research and academic partners at Memorial Medical Center and continues as adjunct professor for the master's program at Benedictine University.

"I am honored to have the opportunity to support Sigma Theta Tau International by being a Virginia Henderson Fellow. As nursing leaders, this is a special way of acknowledging the importance of giving back to our Honor Society and recognizing the special people who have been influential and supportive of our professional development."

Jose Alejandro
Virginia Henderson Fellow

Donate Today »



Sigma Theta Tau International Foundation for Nursing[®]

This email was sent by: **Sigma Theta Tau International Foundation for Nursing** 550 W. North Street – Indianapolis, IN 46202 USA 888.634.7575 (US/Canada toll-free) +1.317.634.8171 (International)

Sigma Theta Tau International Foundation for Nursing is a 501(c)3 US public charity registered to fundraise for Sigma Theta Tau International. US ID#35-1908863